CATEGORY: Dr. M.A.Jayashree

Maharshi Patanjali’s Yogasutras – Learn and Recite (I)

Course Access: Lifetime
Course Overview

Yoga is a pure science. It is the mathematics of the inner being. The “Yogasūtrās of Patanjali” is one of the earliest authoritative texts as far as the world of yoga is concerned. The Patanjali Yogasūtrās are a collection of 195 Sanskrit sūtrās (aphorisms) on the theory and practice of yoga. The Yogasūtrās have 4 pādās, namely समाधिपाद:, साधनपाद:, विभूतिपाद: and कैवल्यपाद: Out of these the first 2 pādās & 5 sūtrās from the 3rd pādā are taken for study in this course. The vibrations produced in the human system by chanting these texts help the person to transform to higher states of consciousness. As one goes on reciting the sūtrās, the meaning of the sūtra will also be understood naturally.

  • Samādhipāda: gives the whole blueprint of the present state of mind, how you are going to reach the various states of samaadhi and a state of equanimity.
  • Sādhanapāda: gives the very practical method of how to practice and reach that goal of the Ashtaanga
  • Vibhūtipāda: completes the Ashtaangayoga